Georgia Workers’ Comp 101
What do small business owners need to know about workers’ comp insurance in Georgia?
If you’re a Georgia small business owner, chances are you’ll need workers’ compensation insurance to protect your employees.
We know running a small business can be demanding, so we’ve distilled Georgia’s workers’ compensation requirements down to the basics. That way, when you’re ready to get coverage for your employees, you’ll be informed and prepared to ensure you’re in compliance with the law.
Laws change and every business situation is different, so be sure to consult your workers’ comp agent and/or legal counsel to confirm your business is meeting the requirements.
10 things you need to know about Georgia workers’ comp insurance
*Data pulled from the Georgia Board of Workers’ Compensation.
- In Georgia, if you regularly employ three or more people, you are required to provide workers’ compensation insurance. Employees include not only full-time but also part-time regular workers.
- Up to five corporate officers or limited liability company (LLC) members may exempt themselves from workers’ compensation coverage by filing the required documentation. However, they are still considered employees, and they count toward the total number of workers in an organization.
- If you are a sole proprietor or a partner, you are not considered an employee of the organization according to Georgia law. Therefore, you are not required to be covered under workers’ compensation insurance. You may, however, elect to obtain coverage. Getting workers’ compensation coverage is a wise decision, even if you’re not required to have it. Workers’ comp can provide valuable protection for you, your employees and your business should you or a worker be injured on the job.
- If you’re a contractor, you may be responsible for providing workers’ compensation insurance for employees of subcontractors. If the subcontractor’s employees who perform work for you are not covered by the subcontractor’s policy, you are responsible for providing them with coverage.
- To obtain workers’ compensation insurance in Georgia, you can purchase coverage from a selection of private, commercial insurers who are licensed in the state. You can also apply to be self-insured by contacting the state workers’ compensation board. Georgia does not have a state workers’ compensation fund.
- As an employer, you must post the Georgia Employee’s Bill of Rights and Panel of Physicians in at least one conspicuous place on the work premises. Supervisors should be familiar with the physicians and services provided and procedures for handling a work-related injury.
- Employees should report work-related injuries to their supervisor immediately, but they have up to 30 days to report the injury.
- As an employer, you should report work-related injuries immediately. However, you must notify the workers’ compensation board within 21 days of knowledge of an injury if you are denying a workers’ claim.
- As an employer, it is essential to understand and follow workers’ compensation laws. In Georgia, noncompliance can result in fines, penalties, or even jail time.
The organization that enforces workers’ compensation laws in Georgia is the Georgia Board of Workers’ Compensation. You can read more about Georgia’s workers’ compensation statutes and rules at O.C.G.A. Title 34, Chapter 9.
If navigating Georgia’s workers’ compensation rules seems complicated, we can help! We’ve taken the guesswork out of the insurance process, and we’re passionate about providing affordable workers’ comp insurance for small businesses across the country.
Pie Insurance is proud to be a licensed provider of workers’ compensation insurance in the state of Georgia.
Thanks for reading! Please note that this content is intended for educational purposes only. As laws change regularly, you should refer to your state legislation and/or an advisor for specific legal counsel. If you’re a small business owner, learn more about workers’ compensation insurance or check your current rate in 3 minutes.