Nebraska workers’ comp 101
As an employer, ensuring your workers are protected physically and financially is a vital part of creating a safe and healthy workplace. Read on to learn what’s required of you as a Nebraska employer and how to protect your business and employees from any accidents that may occur on the job.
What do Nebraska small business owners need to know about workers’ compensation?
The Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act (commonly known as the Act) applies to most employees in the state. Most Nebraska employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, aside from a few exceptions such as independent contractors and federal employers.
Even if you don’t reside in the state but have employees working in Nebraska, most employers are still required to obtain private insurance coverage for any risks their employees may face on the job.
How to obtain workers’ compensation insurance coverage as a Nebraska employer
There are three specific methods, according to the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act, by which employers can fulfill their obligation.
You can purchase a workers’ compensation insurance policy from a private insurer that’s licensed to write insurance policies by the Nebraska Department of Insurance.
This can also include workers’ comp coverage through the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Insurance Plan (NWCIP).
If you meet the requirements, you can apply to carry self-insurance via the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court to obtain authorization.
3 essential facts about workers’ comp insurance in Nebraska
- If you’re unable to obtain workers’ compensation insurance through the voluntary market, you can go through the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Insurance Plan.
- When you purchase a workers’ compensation policy, you don’t need to notify the court. The insurer will notify the court. You may be asked to confirm details of your policy with the court after it receives proof of coverage from your insurer.
- There are consequences for not providing workers’ compensation coverage when you’re legally required to do so.
- This could include a civil fine of up to $1,000 for each violation. Each day you fail to secure workers’ compensation coverage creates a separate violation and another monetary fee.
- If your company is criminally charged for not obtaining the proper insurance, you could face imprisonment for up to a year, a $1,000 fine, or both.
- Employers and businesses may be prevented from conducting business in Nebraska until they’ve secured the proper workers’ comp coverage. They would also face up to a $1,000 fine.
- An injured or sick employee can sue the employer for damages caused by a work-related accident in district court.
Curious about Nebraska workers’ comp rates?
Remember, every situation is different. Nebraska workers’ compensation laws are subject to change, so be sure to research and speak with a trusted advisor.
Please note that this content is intended for educational purposes only. As laws change regularly, refer to your state legislation or an advisor for specific legal counsel. If you’re a small business owner, learn more about the basics of workers’ comp or check your current rate in 3 minutes.