New Jersey is home to more than 191,000 small businesses with 1-499 employees each. For over a century, the workers’ compensation in NJ has helped provide important benefits to this dynamic workforce.
New Jersey workers’ compensation (sometimes called “workman’s comp”) helps protect employers from liability, and it helps care for injured employees and get them back to work as soon as possible.
In the Garden State, all employers must have workers’ compensation insurance. If a small business does not carry workers’ compensation coverage, penalties can include fines of up to $5,000 for the first 10 days and up to $5,000 for each additional 10-day period where there is no insurance, as well as criminal charges.
New Jersey has a private insurance market, which allows small business owners to purchase a workers’ compensation policy from any insurance carrier or agency that is licensed to offer coverage in the state.
Pie Insurance is proud to provide workers’ compensation to small businesses in New Jersey.