New Hampshire workers' comp 101
Understanding the importance of workers’ compensation insurance in New Hampshire
It goes without saying, being an entrepreneur is both exciting and stressful. On the one hand, you have the freedom to make your own decisions, create a schedule that works for you, and grow your business as large as you like. On the other hand, you’re responsible for delivering high-quality products or services and creating a welcoming environment for employees and customers.
On top of this, as a New Hampshire business owner, you must carry the proper business insurance. This can include coverage like:
Another important insurance that small business owners will need is workers’ compensation insurance.
In fact, every business in New Hampshire must obtain a workers’ comp plan if they have any type of employee, including full-time or part-time. The state mandates that companies maintain workers’ compensation in the event that an employee experiences a work-related injury or illness.
If you’re just starting on your entrepreneurship adventure, it can feel overwhelming trying to juggle the intricacies of workers’ comp insurance.So, to help you better understand the coverage and your responsibilities, we’ve highlighted ten of the most important facts to know about the coverage in New Hampshire.
10 essential facts every New Hampshire small business owner should know about workers’ comp
- A workers’ compensation policy will help cover the medical costs, lost wages, and potential disability benefits of an employee who is either injured or becomes ill in the workplace.
- According to the New Hampshire Department of Labor, employees may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits regardless of status (full-time, part-time, temporary, and immigrant workers).
- Employees must report a workplace injury or illness to their employer within two years of it occurring.
- Non-profit organizations must carry workers’ compensation for their employees.
- Sole-proprietors, partners, and self-employed individuals are not required to maintain workers’ compensation insurance unless they have employees.
- Business owners have five days to report an employee’s injury to the New Hampshire Department of Labor commissioner.
- Employers who fail to file a First Report of Injury may be fined up to $2,500.
- Employees who suffer an injury or illness in their workplace may receive any of the following benefits:
- Coverage of missed wages
- Partial and full disability benefits
- Funeral costs
- Coverage of medical expenses and fees
- Coverage of ongoing care fees such as physical therapy
- If a worker is denied benefits under workers’ compensation, they have 18 months to file and request a hearing.
- Employees have the right to choose which doctor they see after a workplace injury has occurred unless their business has a “managed care” workers’ compensation policy.
Remember, every situation is different and state workers’ compensation laws are subject to change, so be sure to do your research and speak with a trusted advisor.
Thanks for reading! Please note that this content is intended for educational purposes only. As laws change regularly, you should refer to your state legislation and/or an advisor for specific legal counsel. If you’re a small business owner, learn more about workers’ compensation insurance or check your current rate in 3 minutes.